The Outlook

This isn't for the sensitive

Church cancels memorial for gay Navy man

Got an e-mail with this article from USA Today about a church that canceled a memorial service for a gay Navy man.

I won’t debate whether or not I think homosexuality is wrong. Homosexuality is not a lifestyle I lead; however, I’m also a big believer in what’s right for me may not be right for you so I don’t judge people who are. (Here’s the part where I’m supposed to add that I have homosexual friends, but I hate when white people say “I”m not racist, I have black friends” so I never say “I’m not homophobic, I have gay friends” — having black friends doesn’t make you not racist just like having homosexual friends doesn’t make you not a homophobe. I’m not homophobic, but saying I have homosexual friends doesn’t prove it.) I guess the point I’m getting at is that I have my views you can have yours and some I’m willing to debate, homosexuality and my personal outlook on it, isn’t one of those.

According to the article, the church offered to do a memorial service, even after learning the man was gay; however, his family listed his partner as a surviving relative and so the church backed out.

The church was wrong. Dead wrong. Homosexuality is a big issue in the church, today (you can read some of my thoughts on it here.) and that’s fine and dandy, but for a church to offer to do a memorial service, knowing full and well at the time the orientation of this man’s sexuality and then backing out last minute because his partner is listed in the obituary is ridiculous. If they intended to pretend like he wasn’t gay, then they shouldn’t have ever offered to do it in the first place.

I take issue when people like Rosie O’Donnell get up on national TV and say that being gay is like being black. That really sets me on fire, but I know that members of the gay community who are open about it and comfortable with it value what part of their life them being gay plays into, the same way I value being black and what that means for me and my life. So, if a church offered to do my memorial and then backed out last minute because my obituary said something about me being black, I’d think that was pretty stupid, too.

I think that our society needs to cut it out with the PC stuff, and own up to what we believe. If you believe homosexuality is wrong, then don’t pretend like you don’t care about it to appease someone else. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions and as long as your opinions aren’t impeding on my life and how I live it, then you go right ahead.

This church was wrong — they were wrong for offering to do his memorial service knowing that his lifestyle was something they take issue with and they were even more wrong for backing out last minute because they were no longer able to avoid the issue.

For pete’s sake, people!

August 11, 2007 - Posted by | Oh the ignorance of the world, Ok. That was stupid, Ramblings, Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

